Delightful… Delicious… Delovely

Ella said it best… “Delovely” is the most accurate word I can think of to describe this delectable 2005 Carneros Chardonnay from Domaine Chandon. Typically known for it’s delicious sparklers, Chandon deserves recognition for its still wine as well. I was quite impressed. The price tag isn’t too bad either… $17 at Spec’s in Houston. Worth every penny. This golden California variety has delicate aromas of lightly buttered toast, toasted marshmallows and vanilla bean crème brûlée. Makes you want to lick your lips, doesn’t it? Mmmm hmmmm…

Once it makes its way into your mouth you are flooded with flavors of vanilla custard and crispy sugar which go back to those toasty aromas of brûlée and marshmallow. The flavors are slightly oakey and not too sweet at all. The acidity in this wine is very well balanced. The bottle notes state that it also offers layers of apple and orange blossom. The apple flavors are very mild, subtle and definitely red rather than green which is what I usually equate with white wine. I’ll be honest, I have no idea what an orange blossom smells or tastes like so I’ll have to take their word on that. All I do know for sure is that I will buy this wine again. And again.

